2012 – Most Anticipated Movies

20 Mar

As anyone who reads my blog knows, I am obsessed with movies. So I decided to do my next blog post about all the upcoming hyped big budget movies of 2012, I am especially excited about some of them. What ones will flop, what ones will be huge and will new box office records be set? One thing is for sure 2012 is going to be a big year for cinema. Here are my picks for most anticipated movies of 2012

The Hunger Games
One of the most anticipated movies of the year is definitely The Hunger Games, and it’s the first one coming up this year that I am really excited about. The Hunger Games is based on a book series of the same name and is in theaters March 23rd. It’s always a big deal when a beloved book series turns into a movie (twilight, harry potter etc) so fans of the book are anxiously waiting to see if it will live up to expectations. When the trailer hit for The Hunger Games I had never heard of the book series and people seemed to be freaking out over it, so I decided to check the book out and I ended up loving it, I am now a big fan and I am really excited for the film. I already have my tickets for the opening Friday night. I’m a fan of Jennifer Lawrence she is about to become a big A List star, she already has an Oscar nomination under her belt for Winter’s Bone and after the popularity of X-Men First Class in 2011 she is on her way. If The Hunger Games is a smash hit every director in Hollywood will be after her, and the other two books in the Hunger Games series are already in talks to become movies. Check out the trailer here

Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss Everdeen


The Avengers
Next up on May 4th is The Avengers. Comic book movies have been huge in the last few years and the latest movies in the Marvel universe have all been especially successful. Iron Man 1&2, Thor, Captain America have all been hits and the characters all come together in the big budget action packed The Avengers. I’m really excited for this one as I loved all the other films in this ‘marvel universe’ and the addition of Mark Ruffalo as Hulk and Jeremy Renner as Hawkeye will be interesting. There has been a lot of marketing and ‘sneak peak trailers’ leading up to this movie and Disney has a lot riding on it especially with the EPIC failure (200$ million loss) of John Carter. It will no doubt make a lot of money but I really hope it’s not a disappointment(cough Fantasic Four cough)! Check out the trailer here it’s pretty epic.

The Avengers


Prometheus
Hitting theaters on June 8th 2012 This is going to be one of the biggest movies of 2012, and I for one CAN NOT WAIT. Starring (my obsession) Michael Fassbender, Charlize Theron, Guy Peirce and Noomi Rapace and directed by Ridley Scott himself, this movie is going to be incredible. When it was first announced that Ridley Scott was planning on doing a ‘sort of prequel to Aliens’ the movie sphere went wild. There has been a lot of secrecy surrounding this movie. Is it actually a prequel!? Ridley Scott has been ambiguous about it, but then the trailer hit this week and well it looks incredible. Watch yourself and see here and prepare to be blown away.

Prometheus


The Amazing Spiderman
When it was announced that Spiderman would be rebooted in 2012 there was a lot of anger from the Spiderman fanboys. “What?! A reboot already?! The last spiderman just came out in 2007” And most people were already planning on hating it. Sam Raimi’s Spiderman 1&2 were widely successful and Spiderman 2 was thought to be the best live action comic book movie (until The Dark Knight). Then came Spiderman 3 which was of course one of the worst movies ever (Emo Spiderman anyone) So talks of a Spiderman 4 with the original cast were set aside. But marvel wasn’t letting this cashcow go so of course the next step would be a “gritty reboot” which made Nolan’s Batman franchise such a success. I will admit I was skeptical when I heard about the reboot but as casting bits started to come out I got excited. With Andrew Garfield (The Social Network) and Emma Stone (The Help, Easy A) being cast I got really excited, especially when it was announced Emma Stone was playing Gwen Stacey not Mary-Jane. And then once the first trailer came out, I knew I wasn’t going to be disappointed. The Amazing Spiderman hits theaters July 3rd check out the trailer here

The Amazing Spiderman


The Dark Knight Rises
This is my prediction for biggest movie of 2012. The hotly anticipated finale in the Nolan Batman trilogy hits theaters July 20th. After the box office record shattering success of the Dark Knight in 2008 everyone has been dying for the next one, and it’s finally here. Nolan’s gritty batman reboot has been an incredible success and some of the best in the comic book genre, and The Dark Knight has been THE best in my opinion. When it was announced that the villain was going to be Bane and Tom Hardy was cast in the role, I could hardly wait. Anne Hatheway as Catwoman is an interesting casting choice as well. The trailer gives me chills and the sooner July gets here the better. And fans of the comic know that things don’t end well between Bane and Batman so it will be interesting to see the direction Nolan takes with the film. It’s probably one of the most anticipated movie in the last couple years. Check out the trailer here

The Dark Knight Rises


Django Unchained
I will admit I am the biggest Tarantino ‘fanboy’ ever. I am obsessed with Pulp Fiction, Resevoir Dogs, Kill Bill 1&2, Death Proof, Inglourious Basterds. So when it was announced that Tarantino’s next movie was coming out in 2012 I pretty much lost my mind. When news of “Django Unchained” hit the net I have been following every little piece of information about it. The casting of Leonardo DiCaprio as a villain in a Tarantino movie has blown my mind and I don’t think I can express my excitement for this movie enough. As more casting news came out, my mind continued to be blown; Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Sacha Baron Cohen, Samuel L Jackson, Kurt Russel, Jamie Foxx. #@$*(%. The plot is “With the help of his mentor, a slave-turned-bounty hunter sets out to rescue his wife from a brutal Mississippi plantation owner” and it comes out on December 25th 2012, SO FAR AWAY. A movie poster for it hit the net the other day I still haven’t been able to verify if it’s legit or fanmade but either way it’s awesome.

Django Unchained Poster



So there you go, there are the movies I am most looking forward to in 2012. Some honorable mentions: American Reunion, World War Z, Life of Pi, The Hobbit, Skyfall, Total Recall, The Bourne Legacy, Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter, Snowhite and the Huntsman, Moonrise Kingdom and The Dictator.

Yup, 2012 is full of some hopefully incredible movies!

4 Responses to “2012 – Most Anticipated Movies”

  1. Film Samurai (@FilmSamurai) March 20, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

    Great list Erin. I would add Lockout with Guy Pearce.

    • Chris March 21, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

      Yes, forgot about lockout, looks good, I hope Pearce can redeem him self from Don’t be afraid of the dark, it was soo bad.

  2. Chris March 20, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

    I enjoyed reading this, I will be seeing all these movies when they come out, I want to go to the hunger games but can’t find any one to go with might end up going my self if I can’t convince some one to go, Batman is defently the movie I am most excited for in 2012, and Abe Lincoln looks like it will be a very fun movie, some movies that you never listed which I am excited for are: John Dies at The End,Cosmopolis and cabin in the woods looks like a very interesting movie the trailer was so different then any thig I ever seen befor looks like a sci-fi verson of the evil dead.

  3. erincandy March 21, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

    Oh I forgot about Lockout, that does look good. And chris i’m excited for the cabin in the woods too! It looks awesome

Leave a comment